top of page

The story of the duo

How did it all start? How different are they really? What is the contrast and what is the trust? On this page you will find insights into the now 15 year old Acquaintance of the duo.

97DB17DB-97EA-4A61-8E2F-D75D8485DC32.JPEG

2016

The beginning of a friendship

"Wake up, wake up!..."

Daniel shakes Marius awake. It is 1 p.m. at the accordion master course in Ottweiler, where the two music students were the youngest participants to receive lessons from top-class accordion professors alongside long-time music students. An honor that you definitely shouldn't miss. Daniel and Marius had known each other for a long time from previous courses and competitions, but this was the first time they shared a room together. The beginning of a long-term friendship was initially defined by the similarities. The two young musicians still only meet at the accordion courses in Daniel's hometown of Ottweiler - Marius travels from Nuremberg, where they will also shoot their first music video.

differences

contrast

Similarities?

Two boys with accordions, mischievous grins on their faces, their brown hair styled to the side - you can't tell from the young duo, but Daniel and Marius are two completely different people. And musically, their interests also differ significantly. That's what I particularly like the different training that the two musicians enjoyed during their time at music school: Marius only received lessons of a more classical nature from Stephan Bahr, while Daniel's musical career spanned several stations and instruments and initially began with traditional accordion literature.

685A7847-0680-4EE7-8CE5-FC36245A27A4.JPEG

Unplugged³

The first composition by Marius Staible

Consisting of three movements, this composition was created in close collaboration with Stephan Bahr in 2015. It was awarded the Carl Müllerhartung Composition Prize twice and a special prize at WESPE and is now established as a compulsory piece in competitions. Unplugged³ is a varied composition for accordion solo that offers a good introduction to modern accordion literature for advanced students.

UNPLUGGED³
by Marius Staible
for accordion solo
Difficulty level: 5
EW29017

Publisher: Edition Wunn 2015

9FF43387-EBED-409E-91BE-5BCC1C35F8E7-536-0000009A71C0A121.jpeg

2017

The first year of studying together in Weimar

"I got it!"

...Daniel calls out to Marius while brushing his teeth, who is looking intently at the registration form for the renowned chamber music competition "Tina Anguissola Scotti" in Val Tidone, Italy. “We call ourselves con:trust”. Rarely have the two musicians agreed so quickly. 

The first appearance as the newly minted duo con:trust was anything but easy: straight from the blazing midday sun of Italy onto the big competition stage. And the two young musicians were the youngest participants to win first prize in two categories. This was followed by an appearance in the Berlin Philharmonie. 

42BEE6D5-6606-4130-8F54-3579AB972A23.JPEG

2018

The diversity of the accordion

Marius and Daniel rummage through a huge stack of barely recognizable sheet music. Shortly before, the Vonderau Museum in Fulda left the duo lost manuscripts by the Loheland composers. The duo's first big order. It slowly becomes clear to the two of them what they really have in common: the versatility of the accordion always leaves enough room for the duo's very different opinions. It is important to take a broad path and exploit the stylistic diversity of the music. On their YouTube channel, the duo publishes their first major video project: the performance of the famous Tango 1940 by Igor Stravinsky in a cold quarry in the middle of November.

BB974B2D-17F9-4CEB-B209-46E18A2BC29D.JPEG

con:trust in an interview

The startup con:trust, the training in Weimar, the accordion and special projects - first-hand information!

WELTMEISTER WEDNESDAYS

Marius Staible and Daniel Roth in a hail of questions

2019

Concerts, performances, festivals

"Tell me, are you actually brothers?"

After numerous performances at the Kurt Weill Fest, the Liquid Sound festival and the Bachspiele, among others, the duo is sure: There is no concert at the end of which one of these three questions is not asked:

1. "Tell me, are you actually brothers?"

2. "Can you imagine that my grandfather also played the accordion?"

3."The Can you study?"

As if in response to this last question, the duo founded another YouTube channel for live recordings of their study performances. It collects classical works by Bach, Scarlatti and Ravel, but also works by famous contemporary composers such as Katzer, Lindberg and Hosokawa.

Trustieman

The second channel

Live recordings

On the YouTube secondary channelTrustieman you will find Classical works by Johann Sebastian Bach, Domenico Scarlatti and Maurice Ravel, jazz transcriptions by Stevie Wonder, Charlie Parker and DukeEllington, but also works by famous contemporary composers such as Georg Katzer, Magnus Lindberg and Toshio Hosokawa. 

rayo de sol 00347.png

RAYO DE SOL

con:trust

Rayo de Sol

composed 2019

For two accordions

CP00347

El mafioso 00348.png

EL MAFIOSO

con:trust

El Mafioso

composed 2019

For two accordions

CP00348

Sheet Music

Own compositions, arrangements, student literature

Here you will find a selection of sheet music for accordion duo, accordion solo and chamber music ensembles!  

Die CD des Duos:

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Vonderau Museum Fulda sowie der Loheland Stiftung entstand 2019 eine einmalige CD mit Einspielungen verschollener Kompositionen der Loheland-Bewegung. Die Kompositionen der Loheländerinnen Thea von Heinleth, Marie Therese Commichau, Dorothee Fikentscher und Hertha Oblasser besitzen ihre eigene Klangsprache, welche durch das Akkordeon nicht besser dargestellt werden könnte. Die Kompositionen setzen sich aus Tänzen, Liedern und Instrumentalwerken zusammen. 

Die CD ist für 12€ erhältlich. Füllen Sie bei Interesse einfach das Kontaktformular aus um die CD zugeschickt zu bekommen!

F01A5A12-5C0A-4728-8D5E-AC450FE35AEA.JPEG

2020

Daniel in Helsinki

"I have to go."

Unfortunately, Daniel was not safe from Corona in Finland either. The sudden huge distance between the two artists and the pandemic caused a creative shift. The duo con:trust built a broad audience on the social media platforms Instagram and TikTok through entertaining videos and quickly became seen as a role model for young musicians during these difficult times. This artistic work was recognized in a portrait by MDR Thuringia and Deutschlandfunk Kultur, among others.

There are more entertaining videos like this on the con:trust TikTok channel!

2021

Master of Music

The master's program in Weimar offers different profiles and of course the two musicians do not choose the same ones for themselves. Daniel is studying music theory as a second subject and Marius is studying new music. 

These two profiles inspire musicians to compose, arrange and produce new music. This is how an EP is created on Spotify and Apple Music in collaboration with the outstanding cellist Eloy Medina. The special feature of the EP is that innovative sounds and noises from the accordion and cello were used to produce melodic house and drum n base beats.

The duo does not remain idle on the accordion. Marius wins first prize at the Vilnius International Accordion Competition 2021.

1C55055D-95FB-47F5-98B9-0D5485B54B51.JPEG

2022

The Franz Liszt Prize

And then the time has come: After over 70 years of accordion history at the FRANZ LISZT Weimar University of Music, an accordionist wins the Franz Liszt Prize for the first time! And not just one: the duo con:trust is recognized with this award as a chamber music ensemble. 

2023

A Daily Practice for failed Oracles

After a trip abroadby Marius Staible After New York, two works for accordion solo will be created: A Daily Practice for failed Oracles by the American composer William Bolles-Beaven and Jeux de lumière by the Korean composer Jongsung OH. Both works can now be found on the duo's second channel.

Meanwhile, Daniel travels to Dubai for a concert tour and wins first prize in the variety category in the accordeons-nous.org accordion competition in Belgium.

Many of the duo's travels and projects are captured in the form of short VLOGs on Facebook. It's worth stopping by for insights behind the scenes!

To the Facebook channel

2024

Das Supertalent

Das Jahr 2024 beginnt mit einer Überraschung: Das Duo con:trust tritt beim Supertalent auf. Ohne Playback, ohne Drums, ohne viel Show - nur das Instrument und die beiden Musiker auf einer komplett neuen Bühne. Der Auftritt sorgte bei der Jury  rund um Poptitan Dieter Bohlen für geteilte Meinungen... 

Daniel und Marius erhalten vom Publikum warmherzige Reaktionen zu ihrem Auftritt. Den Schritt auf eine Bühne dieses Formats zu wagen, war für die beiden sonst eher klassisch aufgestellten Musiker eine ganz neue Erfahrung. Besonders in der heutigen Zeit will das Duo con:trust seine Musik mit allen Menschen teilen - auch mit jenen, die das Instrument in dieser Art und Weise noch nicht kennengelernt haben.

DSCF0230.jpg

New Sounds, New York

2024 werden ebenfalls 10 neue Kompositionen für Akkordeon Duo geboren. Die Werke werden nach intensiver Zusammenarbeit mit den Komponisten und Komponistinnen in Toronto, New York und Berlin uraufgeführt.

Das bisher größte Projekt des Duos ist auch gleichzeitig eines der wichtigsten. Es gibt nicht so viel Originalliteratur für Akkordeon Duo, schon garnicht von amerikanischen Komponisten. An mangelndem Interesse scheint es aber offenbar nicht zu liegen - die Konzerte waren alle drei ein großer Erfolg.

That was it...

the story of the duo con:trust!

Daniel Roth and Marius Staible have been playing together almost every day for 8 years. Despite the great distance and different ways of thinking, an initial shared love of the instrument turned into a close friendship. As with so many things in life, the duo was able to build a philosophy of life:

We are stronger together!

And even a difference of opinion today only leads to more options than to an argument. The fact that you can see this philosophy on stage is the best compliment you can give them both!

Contact

Booking: Laura Jung

Tel: +49 176 43346737

Email: info.contrustmusic@gmail.com

Funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media as part of NEUSTART KULTUR

BKM_Neustart_Kultur_Wortmarke_pos_RGB_RZ.jpg
bottom of page

top of page

Die Geschichte des Duos

Wie fing alles an? Wie unterschiedlich sind sie wirklich? Worin liegt der Kontrast und worin das Vertrauen? Auf dieser Seite findest Du Einblicke in die mittlerweile 15 jährige Bekanntschaft des Duos.

97DB17DB-97EA-4A61-8E2F-D75D8485DC32.JPEG

2016

Der Anfang einer Freundschaft

"Wach auf, Wach auf!!..."

Daniel schüttelt Marius wach. Es ist 13 Uhr auf dem Akkordeonmeisterkurs in Ottweiler, bei dem die beiden Musikschüler als jüngste Teilnehmer neben langjährigen Musikstudenten bei hochkarätigen Akkordeonprofessoren Unterricht erhalten durften. Eine Ehre - bei der man auf keinen Fall verschlafen sollte. Daniel und Marius kannten sich von früheren Kursen und Wettbewerben zwar schon länger, teilten sich aber nun das erste mal ein gemeinsames Zimmer. Der Anfang einer langjährigen Freundschaft definierte sich wohl anfänglich in den Gemeinsamkeiten. Noch treffen sich die beiden jungen Musiker ausschließlich auf den Akkordeonkursen in Daniel's Heimatstadt Ottweiler - Marius reist dafür aus Nürnberg an, wo sie auch ihr erstes Musikvideo drehen werden.

Unterschiede

Kontrast

Gemeinsamkeiten?

Zwei Jungs mit Akkordeons, verschmitztes Grinsen im Gesicht, die braunen Haare zur Seite gestylt - man sieht es dem jungen Duo nicht an, aber Daniel und Marius sind zwei komplett verschiedene Menschen. Und auch musikalisch gehen die Interessen deutlich auseinander. Das mag vor allem an den unterschiedlichen Ausbildungen liegen, die die beiden Musiker während ihrer Musikschulzeit genießen: Marius erhielt ausschließlich von Stephan Bahr Unterricht eher klassischer Natur, während Daniels musikalischer Werdegang über mehrere Stationen und Instrumente lief und zunächst mit traditioneller Akkordeonliteratur begann.

685A7847-0680-4EE7-8CE5-FC36245A27A4.JPEG

Unplugged³

Die erste Komposition von Marius Staible

Bestehend aus drei Sätzen entstand diese Komposition in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Stephan Bahr im Jahre 2015. Sie wurde zweimal mit dem Carl Müllerhartung Kompositionspreis und bei WESPE mit einem Sonderpreis ausgezeichnet und ist heute als Pflichtstück bei Wettbewerben etabliert. Unplugged³ ist eine abwechslungsreiche Komposition für Akkordeon Solo, die für fortgeschrittene Schüler und Studenten einen guten Einstieg in die moderne Akkordeonliteratur bietet.

UNPLUGGED³
von Marius Staible
für Akkordeon solo
Schwierigkeitsgrad: 5
EW 29017

Verlag: Edition Wunn 2015

9FF43387-EBED-409E-91BE-5BCC1C35F8E7-536-0000009A71C0A121.jpeg

2017

Das erste gemeinsame Studienjahr in Weimar

"Ich habsch!"

...ruft Daniel beim Zähneputzen Marius zu, der angestrengt auf das Anmeldeformular des renommierten Kammermusikwettbewerbs "Tina Anguissola Scotti" in Val Tidone, Italien blickt. "Wir nennen uns con:trust". Selten waren die beiden Musiker so schnell einer Meinung. 

Der erste Auftritt als frischgebackenes Duo con:trust war alles andere als leicht: Direkt aus der prallen Mittagssonne Italiens auf die große Wettbewerbsbühne. Und die beiden jungen Musiker gewannen als jüngste Teilnehmer den ersten Preis in gleich zwei Kategorien. Es folgte ein Auftritt in der Berliner Philharmonie. 

42BEE6D5-6606-4130-8F54-3579AB972A23.JPEG

2018

Die Vielfalt des Akkordeons

Marius und Daniel wühlen sich durch einen riesigen Stapel kaum erkennbarer Noten. Kurz zuvor hinterließ das Vonderau Museum in Fulda dem Duo verschollene Manuskripte der Loheland-Komponistinnen. Der erste große Auftrag des Duos. Den beiden wird langsam klar, was sie wirklich verbindet: Die Vielseitigkeit des Akkordeons lässt immer genug Freiraum für die so unterschiedlichen Meinungen des Duos. Es gilt, einen breiten Weg einzuschlagen und die stilistische Vielfalt der Musik auszureizen. Auf ihrem YouTube-Kanal veröffentlicht das Duo ihr erstes großes Videoprojekt: Die Aufführung des berühmten Tango 1940 von Igor Stravinsky in einem kalten Steinbruch mitten im November.

BB974B2D-17F9-4CEB-B209-46E18A2BC29D.JPEG

con:trust im Interview

Das Startup con:trust, die Ausbildung in Weimar, das Akkordeon sowie besondere Projekte - Informationen aus erster Hand!

WELTMEISTER WEDNESDAYS

Marius Staible und Daniel Roth im Fragenhagel

2019

Konzerte, Auftritte, Festivals

"Sagt mal, seid ihr eigentlich Brüder?"

Nach zahlreichen Auftritten unter anderem beim Kurt Weill Fest, beim Liquid Sound festival oder bei den Bachspielen ist das Duo sich sicher: Es gibt kein Konzert, an dessen Ende nicht einer dieser drei Fragen gestellt wird:

1. "Sagt mal, seid ihr eigentlich Brüder?"

2. "Könnt ihr euch vorstellen, dass mein Großvater auch mal Akkordeon gespielt hat?"

3. "Das kann man studieren?"

Wie als Antwort auf diese letzte Frage gründet das Duo einen weiteren YouTube Kanal für Live-Aufnahmen ihrer Studienauftritte. Es sammeln sich Werke der Klassik von Bach, Scarlatti und Ravel, aber auch Werke berühmter Zeitgenössischer Komponisten wie z.B. Katzer, Lindberg und Hosokawa.

Trustieman

Der Zweitkanal

Live-Recordings

Auf dem YouTube-Zweitkanal Trustieman finden Sie Werke der Klassik von Johann Sebastian Bach, Domenico Scarlatti und Maurice Ravel, Jazztranskriptionen von Stevie Wonder, Charlie Parker und Duke Ellington, aber auch Werke berühmter Zeitgenössischer Komponisten wie z.B. Georg Katzer, Magnus Lindberg und Toshio Hosokawa. 

rayo de sol 00347.png

RAYO DE SOL

con:trust

Rayo de Sol

composed 2019

For two accordions

CP 00347

El mafioso 00348.png

EL MAFIOSO

con:trust

El Mafioso

composed 2019

For two accordions

CP 00348

Noten

Eigenkompositionen, Arrangements, Schülerliteratur

Hier finden Sie eine Auswahl an Noten für Akkordeon-Duo, Akkordeon-Solo und kammermusikalische Besetzungen!  

2020

Daniel in Helsinki

"Ich muss weg."

Leider war Daniel auch in Finnland nicht vor Corona sicher. Der plötzliche riesige Abstand zwischen den beiden Künstlern und die Pandemie sorgten für einen kreativen Umschwung. Das Duo con:trust baute auf den Social-Media Plattformen Instagram und TikTok ein breites Publikum durch kurzweilige Videos auf und galt schnell als Vorbild für junge Musiker in dieser schweren Zeit. Diese künstlerische Arbeit wurde unter anderem vom MDR Thüringen und bei Deutschlandfunk Kultur in einem Portrait gewürdigt.

Mehr solcher kurzweiligen Videos gibt es auf dem TikTok Kanal von con:trust!

2021

Master of Music

Der Masterstudiengang in Weimar bietet verschiedene Profile an und selbstverständlich wählen die beiden Musiker nicht die gleichen für sich aus. So studiert Daniel im Zweitfach Musiktheorie und Marius die Neue Musik. 

Diese beiden Profile inspirieren die Musiker zum Komponieren, Arrangieren und Produzieren neuer Musik. So entsteht eine EP auf Spotify und Apple Music in Zusammenarbeit mit dem herausragenden Cellisten Eloy Medina. Die Besonderheit der EP liegt darin, dass innovative Klänge und Geräusche des Akkordeons und des Cellos verwendet wurden um melodische House- und Drum n Base Beats zu produzieren.

Am Akkordeon bleibt das Duo nicht untätig. Marius erzielt den ersten Preis beim internationalen Akkordeonwettbewerb in Vilnius 2021.

1C55055D-95FB-47F5-98B9-0D5485B54B51.JPEG

2022

Der Franz Liszt Preis

Und dann ist es soweit: Nach über 70 Jahren Akkordeongeschichte an der Hochschule für Musik FRANZ LISZT Weimar gewinnt erstmals ein Akkordeonist den Franz Liszt Preis! Und nicht nur einer: Das Duo con:trust wird als kammermusikalische Besetzung mit dieser Auszeichnung gewürdigt. 

2023

A Daily Practice for failed Oracles

Nach einer Auslandsreise von Marius Staible nach New York  entstehen zwei Werke für Akkordeon Solo: A Daily Practice for failed Oracles von dem amerikanischen Komponisten William Bolles-Beaven und Jeux de lumière vom koreanischen Komponisten Jongsung OH. Beide Werke sind mittlerweile auf dem Zweitkanal "Trustieman" des Duos zu finden.

Daniel reist unterdessen nach Dubai für eine Konzerttournee und gewinnt den ersten Preis in der Variete Kategorie im Akkordeonwettbewerb accordeons-nous.org in Belgien.

Viele der Reisen und Projekte des Duos werden in Form von kurzen VLOGs auf Facebook festgehalten. Für Einblicke hinter die Kulissen lohnt es sich vorbeizuschauen!

Zum Facebookkanal
Supertalent contrust.jpg

2024

Das Supertalent

Das Jahr 2024 beginnt mit einer Überraschung: Das Duo con:trust tritt beim Supertalent auf. Ohne Playback, ohne Drums, ohne viel Show - nur das Instrument und die beiden Musiker auf einer komplett neuen Bühne. Der Auftritt sorgte bei der Jury  rund um Poptitan Dieter Bohlen für geteilte Meinungen... 

Daniel und Marius erhalten vom Publikum warmherzige Reaktionen zu ihrem Auftritt. Den Schritt auf eine Bühne dieses Formats zu wagen, war für die beiden sonst eher klassisch aufgestellten Musiker eine ganz neue Erfahrung. Besonders in der heutigen Zeit will das Duo con:trust seine Musik mit allen Menschen teilen - auch mit jenen, die das Instrument in dieser Art und Weise noch nicht kennengelernt haben.

Das war sie...

die Geschichte des Duos con:trust!

Seit 8 Jahren spielen Daniel Roth und Marius Staible nun fast jeden Tag zusammen. Aus einer anfänglich gemeinsamen Liebe zum Instrument wurde trotz großer Entfernung und unterschiedlicher Denkweisen eine innige Freundschaft. Wie bei so vielen Sachen im Leben konnte das Duo eine Lebensphilosophie aufbauen:

Gemeinsam ist man stärker!

Und auch eine Meinungsverschiedenheit führt heute nur noch zu mehr Optionen als zu einem Streit. Dass man diese Philosophie auch auf der Bühne wahrnimmt, ist das schönste Kompliment, was man den beiden geben kann!

Kontakt

Booking: Laura Jung

Tel: +49 176 43346737

Email: info.contrustmusic@gmail.com

Gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen von NEUSTART KULTUR

BKM_Neustart_Kultur_Wortmarke_pos_RGB_RZ.jpg
bottom of page